Refilling the Well: On Getting through Writer’s Block

This. This right here is just what I needed to read today. Thank you so much, Rachel Mack.

BREVITY's Nonfiction Blog

blockA guest post from Rachel Mack:

When I was 30 I got a job mentoring public school students. Once a month I was supposed to choose a “Great Story” from my work experience and write it up for my boss, who would send it to his boss and on up the line in order to show that we were doing good things with our grant dollars. I had taught college writing for the previous seven years and have a master’s degree in fiction writing, so the expectation was that I would turn in the best and brightest great stories each month.

I didn’t write the best stories–my experiences were great, but my writing had the bland, brittle flavor of a saltine. Each of my essays was a series of short declarative sentences that summed up events and emotions as though it was a police report. In one staff meeting, my…

View original post 1,098 more words

Leave a Reply

